Employees of Pasco-Hernando State College are hereby notified that under revisions to Chapter 39.201 Florida Statutes, any individual who fails to report known or suspected child abuse, abandonment or neglect, or prevents another from making such a report, regardless of where the event occurred or the relationship of the perpetrator to the victim, is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for a term of up to 5 years and a fine not exceeding $5,000.00. Further, any employee who knows, or has reasonable cause to suspect, that a child is the victim of childhood sexual abuse or the victim of a known or suspected juvenile sexual offender also is required to report such knowledge or suspicion.

Employees are also advised that, pursuant to Florida Statute 39.205, a Florida College System institution, state university or nonpublic college whose administrators are made aware of known or suspected child abuse, abandonment or neglect which occurred on college or university property or at an official event sponsored by the college or university, or who prevents the reporting of such child abuse, neglect or abandonment may be subject to a fine of $1 million. This reporting requirement exists even if the employee or administration is aware that the incident has been reported by another individual or entity. Failure to report in compliance with college procedures may result in employee discipline, up to and including termination of employment.

Where the alleged perpetrator is a student, the disciplinary process shall proceed in accordance
with College policies and procedures.

Definitions

 

Reporting Procedures